Who I am in Christ! part 2

page 16 of Patricia King‘s book, Decree a Thing, and it shall be Established:

  1. I am God‘s workmanship, created in Christ for good works. Eph. 2:10
  2. I am a citizen of heaven. Eph 2:19; Phil. 3:20
  3. I am a member of Christ’s body. 1 Cor. 12:27
  4. I am united to the Lord and am one spirit with Him. 1 Cor. 6:17
  5. I am the temple of the Holy Spirit1 Cor. 3:16; 6:19
  6. I am a friend of Christ. John 15:15
  7. I am a slave of righteousness. Rom. 6:18
  8. I am the righteousness of God in Christ. 2 Cor. 5:21
  9. I am chosen and ordained by Christ to bear fruit. John 15:16
  10. I am righteous and holy. Eph. 4:24
  11. I am hidden with Christ in God. Col. 3:3

Who are you in Christ? Have you ever claimed you place with God? Do you fully understand the promises and protection afforded you through Christ’s death on the cross? Or have you just forgotten? Sometimes we need to reconnect with God through scripture so we can realize how He is there for us – No matter what!

All my life, God has pursued me. I told my parents at the age of 8 that I wanted to become a christian and recieve Christ into my heart. Back in the day, in the Southern Baptist Church, the pastor was called to come and talk to you about your decision. My parents did just that. Our pastor came to the house and took me into a room away from parents. He sat me down and began asking me questions. I was terrified! I did not know this man. He was a stranger. Well, I must not have answered his questions “well enough” or “correctly” because he told my parents that I “was not ready”.

The ripple effect from that one event changed the course of our whole family. My parents left the church. I thought I was not good enough to be a christian but yet I kept seeking God. I kept hearing his voice telling me to go and learn more about Him.

It did not matter who invited me to church for the next 10 years, I accepted their invitation. I figured God did not care where I went as long as I was seeking Him. I had the pleasure of attending Baptist, Church of Christ, Seventh Day Adventist, Church of Latter Day Saints, Catholic, Presbyterian, and Apostolic Pentacostal.

At the age of 18, I “officially” prayed to receive Christ, was baptized, and was filled with the Holy Spirit. I began seekign God’s will for my life for the first time. God revealed to me that he was calling me to be in ministry. So once again, I went to the pastor of the church to discuss what God was calling me to do.

I told the pastor about my calling to ministry and asked for his guidance. His response was that there was no place for women in ministry. I eventually left the church confused about “How I could be wrong?” I was pretty sure of God’s calling but I was devastated by my pastor’s response.

I went tragically off track after that. I was single and pregnant by the time I was 20. I was seeking love and acceptance from all the wrong places. My first son (Chandler) died at 32 weeks gestation. He was born stillborn. I felt his last kick that morning. I had known for over a week something was terribly wrong but the nurse practitioner would not listen.

I began dating someone while I was pregnant. He was there through most of the craziness but he was also part of the emotional craziness. After Chandler died, I became pregnant again within 10-12 weeks. William was born 11 months to the day(12/8/1993) of Chandler’s birth (1/8/1993).

I married Will’s father when I was 9 weeks pregnant. The entire time we dated he treated me  like a princess. However, once we were married, I became property. Abuse slowly began emerging into our relationship. Physical – Emotional – and Sexual.

To be continued tomorrow…

Girls want a guy to save them

Leave a Reply

